

FACULTY OF MEDICINE & DENTISTRY

UA-Shantou Steering Committee (Graduate Programs)

Original Approval Date: June 17, 2010 Approved by: Dean's Executive Committee

Office of Accountability:	Dean of Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry
Office of Administrative Responsibility:	Vice Dean Research
Approver:	Dean's Executive Committee
Scope:	Terms of Reference

1. Purpose

The UA-Shantou Steering Committee (Graduate Programs) has the overall responsibility of advising the Vice-Dean, Research as well as the Dean of their respective faculties on important strategic, operational and recruitment matters related to graduate programs funded by Li Ka Shing (LKS) Sino-Canadian Exchange Program. These include (1) the Medical Sciences Graduate Program-Shantou, (2) a 4-year fellowship program funding the doctoral studies at UAlberta for graduates of the 7 year Masters of Medicine program of Shantou University Medical College (SUMC), as well as (3) short term visits by SUMC faculty members with PhDs.

2. Responsibilities:

- 1. Pre-approving collaborative projects under the MSGP-Shantou program
- 2. Pre-selection of trainees for admission to programs administered by the LKS Sino-Canadian Exchange Program.
- 3. The setting of admission requirements to MSGP-Shantou.
- 4. Approving extensions to the funding of trainees of the LKS Sino-Canadian Exchange Program.
- 5. Evaluate and approve potential changes to the LKS Sino-Canadian Exchange Program.

3. Composition:

The UA-Shantou Steering Committee (Graduate Programs), referred herein as "the Committee", comprises at a minimum a Chair as well as three members from both the UA-FoMD and SUMC selected by their respective Deans (or his/her delegate). The committee will also include the Vice-Deans, Research (or his/her delegate), and/or Deans (or his/her delegate) of SUMC and FoMD. The Chair is a UA member of the FoMD and will be appointed by the Dean, FoMD.

Voting Members from UAlberta

- i) Chair, UA-Shantou Steering Committee
- ii) the three selected members of the UA-Shantou Steering Committee (Graduate Programs)

Voting Members from SUMC

i) the three selected members of the UA-Shantou Steering Committee (Graduate Programs)

Non-voting Members from UAlberta

- i) Vice-Dean Research (or his/her delegate)
- ii) Dean (or his/her delegate)

Non-voting Members from SUMC

- i) Vice-Dean Research (or his/her delegate)
- ii) Dean (or his/her delegate)

4. Procedures

- **4.1** The Chair and committee members are appointed for a three-year term that may be renewed. Committee members are appointed by the Dean (or his/her delegate).
- **4.2** Consultation can take place either through electronic exchange (email) or through meetings arranged by the secretary of the committee.

5. Meetings:

- **5.1** The committee should meet at least once per year. Additional meetings will be scheduled when needed.
- **5.2** Quorum will consist of 5 voting members, with a minimum of 2 members from each institution. The Chair will only vote in the event of a tie.
- **5.3** Minutes of the Committee with actions will be kept and distributed to members of the committee

6. Membership

Position

Chair (voting)

3 representative each from SUMC and FoMD (voting)

Vice-Dean, Research (or his/her delegate) (non-voting)

Dean (or his/her delegate) (non-voting)

Approved By:

Dean's Executive Council – April 28, 2014