

Present:



Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry Faculty Council Meeting June 18, 2013 3:00 – 4:30 p.m. 2F1.04 WMC (Classroom D)

As per attached list *attendance list may not reflect everyone in attendance* Dr. D. Kunimoto 1. CALL TO ORDER Dr. D. Kunimoto called the meeting to order at 3:04 p.m. 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA Dr. D. Kunimoto MOVED by Dr. M. Mengel and SECONDED by Vivien Wulff to CARRIED accept the Agenda as circulated. 3. APPROVAL OF THE MAY 21, 2013 MEETING MINUTES Dr. D. Douglas Miller MOVED by Dr. Susan Andrew and SECONDED by Dr. Jim Young to CARRIED accept the Minutes of the May 21, 2013 Faculty Council meeting as circulated. It was noted that the Minutes will be available on the website in future.

4. INTRODUCTION OF NEW FACULTY

Dr. D. Douglas Miller

Dr. Miller welcomed new Faculty Members:

- Dr. Alexander Doroshenko, Asst Professor Dept of Medicine
- Dr. Israel Amirav, Assoc Prof Dept of Pediatrics

5. BUSINESS ARISING

No items.

6. DEAN'S REPORT

Dr. Miller commented on the successful completion of the academic year. The 2013 graduating class was appreciative of the celebration of the Centennial during their convocation week.

A brief update on the upcoming MD Program Accreditation was provided. There will be a Mock Accreditation visit taking place on October 7 & 8, 2013. The Dean asked that the Faculty make themselves available for this. Self-study reports will be drafted in the next few weeks.

On behalf of the Faculty Dr. Miller thanked Dr. Marek Michalak for his 3 years and 10 months of dedicated leadership as Vice Dean, Research. A search committee, Chaired by Dr. L. Tyrell, is in the process of selecting a replacement for the Vice Dean, Research position.

a) FY14 Budget Updates

Dr. Miller discussed the possible implications for the FoMD of the current budget scenario.

7. NEW BUSINESS

a. Vice Dean of Education

i. MLS Program Technical Standards Policy

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. M. Mengel, SECONDED by Dr. F. Bamforth. No discussion. **Carried**, no opposed or abstained.

ii. Practicum Intervention Policy

MOTION TO APPROVE with edits: Dr. L. Purdy, SECONDED by Dr. W. Dafoe. **Carried**, no opposed or abstained.

iii. Faculty Academic Appeals Policies

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. P. Hamilton, SECONDED by Dr. M. Mengel. **Carried**, no opposed or abstained.

Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry Academic Appeals Policy for Postgraduate Medical Education Students

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. B. Ballermann, SECONDED by Dr. J. Konkin **Carried**, no opposed or abstained.

iv. Terms of Reference Faculty Academic Appeals Committee

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. M. Keenan, SECONDED by Dr. B. Ballermann. **Carried**, no opposed or abstained.

- v. <u>MD Program Structure</u> Dr. Fraser Brenneis reported that Dr. Stobart will remain the Associate Dean of MD Program and Dr. Tracey Hillier will move to Associate Dean, MD Curriculum.
- vi. <u>Updated Faculty Learning Committee Terms of Reference</u> **Tabled**

b) Vice Dean of Faculty Affairs

i. Updated Code of conduct (Tabled from May 21)

MOTION TO APPROVE: Dr. L. Breault, SECONDED by Ms. Vivien Wulff. **Carried**, 2 opposed, no abstentions.

8. OTHER BUSINESS

Dr. Miller reminded everyone that even though there is a set agenda for this meeting, please bring your ideas forward to be included in future meetings.

9. NEXT MEETING

 Date:
 16 July 2013

 Time:
 1500 - 1630 hrs.

 Location:
 Classroom D (2F1.04)

10. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:15 pm.

ATTENDANCE LIST – 18 June 2013 FACULTY COUNCIL FACULTY OF MEDICINE AND DENTISTRY (May not reflect everyone in attendance)

Douglas Miller Kendra Brunt Fraser Brenneis **Dennis Kunimoto** Doug Hedden Barbara Ballermann Lisa Purdy Susan Andrew Tracey Hillier Bill Dafoe **Diane Titley Cynthia Henderson Barb Armstrong** Vince Rogers **Roberta Martindale** Louanne Keenan Michael Mengel **Cian Hackett Bin Zheung** Alan Underhill Sarah Hughes Andrew Simmonds Chris de Gara Peggy Sage

Shannon Chaney Hanne Ostergaard James Young James Hammond Lionel Dibden

Alexander Clanachan Marek Michalek Colleen Iwanicka Therese Vanden Brock

Sandi Barber Renny Khan Dan Livy Bruce Fisher Anna Oswald Gita Sharma Raquel Maurier Kent Stober