

Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry Faculty Council Meeting July 16, 2013 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. 2F1.04 WMC (Classroom D)

Present:

As per attached list *attendance list may not reflect everyone in attendance*

1. CALL TO ORDER

Dr. D. Douglas Miller called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m.

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOVED by Dr. D. Douglas Miller and SECONDED by Dr. Kunimoto to Accept the Agenda as circulated.

3. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 18, 2013 MEETING MINUTES

MOVED by Dr. D. Douglas Miller and SECONDED by Kendra Brunt to accept the Minutes of the June 18, 2013 Faculty Council meeting as circulated.

Dr. D. Douglas Miller

Dr. D. Douglas Miller

Dr. D. Douglas Miller

Dr. D. Douglas Miller

CARRIED

CARRIED

4. INTRODUCTION OF NEW FACULTY

Dr. Miller welcomed new Faculty Members:

- Dr. John Chmelicek, Asst Professor Dept of Family Medicine
- Dr. Daire O'Shea, Asst Professor Dept of Medicine
- Dr. Juan Gonzalez-Abraldes, Assoc Professor Dept of Medicine
- Dr. Lynne Postovit, Assoc Professor Dept of Oncology

5. BUSINESS ARISING

No items.

6. DEAN'S REPORT

Dr. Miller reported on the status of the FY14 budget, advising that ongoing consultation is taking place at various levels of the University as well as with the Government and the Deans are actively involved.

7. NEW BUSINESS

a. Vice Dean of Research

Dr. D. Evans

Graduate Studies (FGSR) Program Changes

FGSR is redirecting the Graduate Studies back to each Faculty that they are a part of. Each Faculty will be assuming the administrative duties. Please contact Dr. Hanne Ostergaard or the Grad Coordinators with questions or concerns.

CFI Awards

Applications are being submitted at this time for CFI Awards. Please contact Dr. Evans if interested in applying.

iii. Basic Science Representative on Faculty Research Committee

Please nominate yourself or a colleague as we need a basic science representative on the Faculty Research Committee.

iv. Directions

Dr. Evans will focus on the pre-SPOR and SPOR initiatives as well as managing the existing relationships with CRIO and Alberta Innovates. He will also work to partner Departments with the Institutes and Centres in regards to recruitments.

b. Vice Dean of Education

Dr. F. Brenneis

i. MD Program Accreditation

Since the last report to Faculty Council, we have reduced the red-zone items from 40 to about 25. The accreditation executive team continues to meet on a weekly basis and will have more items in the red-zone addressed once the new academic year commences and students return. The ISS rough draft is complete with edits to take place in the next few weeks.

ii. Student Placement Agreement

AHS has submitted the Student Placement Agreement to the University for signature.

iii. Dentistry Accreditation

The Dentistry Accreditation mock review has been completed and areas of concern are being addressed.

iv. MLS Accreditation

The Faculty will support a faculty member in the MLS program this fall (by providing teaching relief funding) to begin to prepare the MLS program accreditation report. The accreditation visit is expected to be in November, 2014.

c. Vice Dean of Faculty Affairs

Dr. D. Kunimoto

Interaction with Industry Policy

Discussion ensued on the current draft (#9) of the Interaction with Industry Policy. Please submit your comments or concerns to dennis.kunimoto@ualberta.ca. It will be brought back to the August 20, 2013 meeting for a vote.

ii. Governance

The governance model of the faculty was presented for information.

8. OTHER BUSINESS

No other business was brought forward

9. NEXT MEETING

Date: 20 Aug 2013 Time: 1500 - 1630 hrs. Location: Classroom D (2F1.04)

10. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 pm.

ATTENDANCE LIST – 16 July 2013 FACULTY COUNCIL

FACULTY OF MEDICINE AND DENTISTRY

(May not reflect everyone in attendance)

Douglas Miller

Kendra Brunt

Fraser Brenneis

Dennis Kunimoto

David Evans

Sandi Barber

Maury Pinsk

Andrew Cooper

Gary Lopaschuk

Sandy Davidge

Richard Lehner

Alan Underhill

Derek Emery

1 1 6

Judy Gnarpe

Anne Giles

Bill Dafoe

Lisa Purdy

David Eisenstat

Andrew Simmonds

Shirley Auvigne

Nadia Jahroudi

Marek Michalak

Sumit Majumdar

Gary Eitzen

Troy Baldwin

Cian Hackett

Chris Novak

Dominic Allain

Vijay Daniels

Barbara Hiscock

Dan Livy

Tracey Hillier

Amy Tan

Karen Kroeker

Lionel Dibden

Connie Lebrun

Kent Stobart

Marc Moreau

Mel Lewis

Diane Titley

Barbara Ballermann

Therese Vanden Broek

Jill Konkin

Lorraine J. Breault

Charles Holmes